Davies’ 2018 Corporate/Securities Law Moot

This past weekend in Toronto, 11 law schools from across Canada participated in Davies’ 28th annual Corporate/Securities Law Moot. The moot provides an opportunity for top students from Canadian law schools to debate current legal issues in corporate and securities law.

Prizes went to the following:


  1. University of Toronto
  2. Western University
  3. University of Calgary


  1. McGill University
  2. Western University
  3. University of Toronto


  1. Adil Abdulla, University of Toronto
  2. Christopher Puskas, University of Toronto
  3. Jan Nitoslawski, McGill University

The top two teams competed in a final round before a five-member panel, consisting of The Honourable Justice Andromache Karakatsanis of the Supreme Court of Canada, The Honourable Justices Gloria Epstein, Kathryn Feldman and Robert Sharpe of the Ontario Court of Appeal and Mr. Tim Moseley, Vice Chair of the Ontario Securities Commission.


Mining Equipment Exemption from Municipal Taxes Receives Strict Interpretation

Nov. 08, 2019 - The Court of Québec (Court) recently rendered its decision1 in respect of Bloom Lake General Partner Limited’s (Mining Operator’s) appeal from the ruling of the Tribunal administratif du Québec (TAQ, Québec’s Administrative Tribunal). The Court pointed out that its decision now provides a “decision...